Volume Flow Measurements in Stacks

A precise volume flow measurement is essential to evaluate emissions from stacks. Many methods exist like pitot tube traverses, averaging pitot tubes, hot-wire anemometers, ultra-sonic flow meters, and critical orifices. The accuracy of these methods is limited when less-than-ideal flow characteristics exist, such as: asymmetric velocity distribution, off-axis flow components due to swirl, turbulence, very low flow, and reversal due to wakes or buoyancy.

These methods also require the measurement of the cross sectional area which can be a significant source of error if the shape and dimensions of the sampling section cannot be determined with sufficient accuracy.

Tracer gas dilution is a volumetric or whole field method for measuring flow. It does not require the measurement of the cross-sectional area of a duct and, with exception of flow reversal, it is insensitive to the non-ideal flow characteristics mentioned previously.

 

The tracer test is comparable to the flow measurement in a duct. For stacks the standards ASTM E 2029 and the DIN EN ISO 16911-1 are applicable. The detection of the tracer concentration using gaschromatography (GC) with electron capture detection (ECD) is independent of the gas constituents (no cross interference). This differentiates the GC-ECD analysis from e.g. IR-analysis. The latter requires a cross compensation, which of course depends on the concentration of each stack gas constituent. Because concentrations of stack gas constituents vary with stack load, the GC-ECD analysis is more precise and with less effort involved.

Volumenstrommessung in Stacks

Die präzise Volumenstrombestimmung in Abgasschornsteinen ist elementar für eine genaue Messung der Abgasemissionen. Die üblichen Verfahren mittels Staurohr-Traverse, Abfahren des Kaminquerschnitts mit einem Staurohr und Mittelung, Hitzdraht- oder Flügelradanemometer sind alle in ihrer Genauigkeit limitiert, wenn nicht-ideale Strömungsbedingungen vorliegen. Dazu gehören asymmetrische Geschwindigkeitsverteilungen, Querströmungen durch Wirbel, Turbulenzen, sehr geringe Strömungen oder entgegengesetzte Strömungen durch Wirbel, Sog oder Auftriebseffekte.

Außerdem muss für diese Methoden die Querschnittsfläche abgefahren werden. Das erhöht die Ungenauigkeit, wenn die Form und die Abmaße des Querschnitts nicht genau bekannt sind.

Die Tracergasmethodik zur Volumenstrommessung bewertet das gesamte durchströmte Volumen und – mit der Ausnahme von Rückströmungen – bedarf keiner genauen Kenntnis des Strömungsquerschnitts. Weiterhin muss keine ideale Strömung vorliegen.

 

Die prinzipielle Vorgehensweise ist vergleichbar mit der Volumenstrommessung in Lüftungskanälen. Für Schornsteine ist sie in den Normen ASTM E 2029 als auch in der DIN EN ISO 16911-1 festgelegt. Die Detektion der Tracergaskonzentration mittels Gaschromatograph (GC) mit Electron Capture Detector (ECD) ist frei von jeglicher Analysebeeinflussung der Abgaskomponenten (cross interference). Das unterscheidet diese Methode von der Infrarotanalyse. Bei Letzterer muss die Abgaszusammensetzung genau bekannt sein, um eine ‘Cross Compensation’ für eine genaue Tracergaskonzentrationsmessung zu ermöglichen. Da Abgaszusammensetzungen aber je nach Last- und Betriebsfall schwanken können, ist das ECD-GC-Verfahren genauer und mit geringerem Aufwand verbunden.